FSSC 22000 v5.1 is a GFSI recognized food safety certification scheme that covers the entire food supply chain. It is based on the ISO 22000 standard and the technical specifications for sector-specific prerequisites. AGFOCERT is a trusted partner of QSI-Cert , a leading certification body for FSSC 22000. Together, we offer FSSC 22000 certification services for food and packaging industries in various categories:

  • CI (Processing of perishable animal products - Production of animal products including fish and seafood, meat, eggs, dairy and fish products)
  • CII (Processing of perishable plant products Production of plant products including fruits and fresh juices, vegetables, grains, nuts, and pulses)
  • CIII (Processing of perishable animal and plant products (mixed products) Production of mixed animal and plant products including pizza, lasagne, sandwich, dumpling, ready- to-eat meals)
  • CIV (Processing of ambient stable products) and
  • I (production of food packaging and packaging materials).

Our auditors have extensive experience and expertise in these sectors and can perform value added assessments.

We do the FSSC 22000 assessments in the sites , complete the assessment reports and send to QSI-Cert Canada . They do the technical review and certification decision. Accredited certificates are issued by QSI-Cert Canada.

FSSC 22000 is composed of a set of standards and requirements that aim to ensure the safety and quality of food products and processes. The scheme is based on the ISO 22000 standard for food safety management systems, as well as technical specifications for sector-specific prerequisites programs (PRPs) and additional requirements established by the Foundation for Food Safety Certification. FSSC 22000 is recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) and by many food industry stakeholders as a robust and comprehensive scheme for food safety assurance.

One of the parts of FSSC 22000 is ISO/TS 22002 series standards. These are technical specifications for sector-specific Pre-Requisite Programs (PRPs) that are essential for implementing an effective Food Safety Management System (FSMS). In this page, we will explore what these standards are, why they are important, and how they can help you achieve FSSC 22000 certification.

What are PRPs (Pre-requisite programs) ?

PRPs are the basic conditions and activities that are necessary to maintain a hygienic environment throughout the food chain. They include aspects such as:

- Layout and design of buildings and facilities
- Control of utilities and waste
- Equipment suitability and maintenance
- Cleaning and sanitizing
- Pest control
- Personnel hygiene and training
- Storage and transport
- Traceability and recall

PRPs are not specific to any food safety hazard, but rather aim to prevent or minimize the likelihood of contamination from any source. They form the foundation of an FSMS, which is a systematic approach to managing food safety risks based on the principles of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP).

There are currently six ISO/TS 22002 standards available, covering the following sectors:

- ISO/TS 22002-1: Food manufacturing
- ISO/TS 22002-2: Catering services
- ISO/TS 22002-3: Farming
- ISO/TS 22002-4: Food packaging manufacturing
- ISO/TS 22002-5: Animal feed production
- ISO/TS 22002-6: Transport and storage

Each standard specifies the requirements for PRPs that are applicable to the respective sector, taking into account the specific characteristics and challenges of each food chain operation. The standards also include examples of good practices and verification methods to demonstrate compliance.

Why are ISO/TS 22002 series standards important?

ISO/TS 22002 series standards are important because they help organizations to establish and maintain a high level of hygiene and food safety throughout their operations. By implementing PRPs according to these standards, organizations can:

- Reduce the risk of foodborne illnesses and product recalls
- Comply with legal and regulatory requirements
- Meet customer expectations and requirements
- Enhance their reputation and credibility
- Improve their efficiency and profitability

Moreover, ISO/TS 22002 series standards are important because they are one of the components of FSSC 22000 certification. FSSC 22000 is a globally recognized scheme for auditing and certifying FSMSs that is aligned with the ISO Management System approach and the ISO Harmonized Structure. FSSC 22000 certification comprises of three components:

- ISO 22000, the international standard for FSMSs
- The relevant PRP specification/s (ISO/TS 22002 standards or BSI PAS)
- The FSSC Additional Requirements, which address specific aspects such as management commitment, internal audits, unannounced audits, etc.

By obtaining FSSC 22000 certification, organizations can demonstrate that they have a robust and effective FSMS that meets the highest standards of food safety.

ISO/TS 22002 series standards guide you achieve FSSC 22000 certification by providing you with a clear and comprehensive framework for implementing PRPs in your sector. By following these standards, you can ensure that you have covered all the relevant aspects of hygiene and food safety in your operations, and that you have documented evidence to support your compliance.

To achieve FSSC 22000 certification, you need to select the appropriate PRP specification/s for your sector from the ISO/TS 22002 series. You also need to comply with ISO 22000 and the FSSC Additional Requirements. You then can then undergo an audit by an QSI-Cert Canada that is licensed by FSSC and accredited by IAS to deliver audits and certifications worldwide.

The audit process consists of two stages: a document review and an on-site assessment. The document review verifies that you have a documented FSMS that meets the requirements of FSSC 22000. The on-site assessment verifies that you have implemented your FSMS effectively in practice, and that you have achieved the desired outcomes.

If you pass both stages of the audit, you will receive a certificate that is valid for three years, subject to annual surveillance audits. You will also be listed on the FSSC Public Register, which provides visibility and recognition to certified organizations.

Accreditation Certificate of QSI-Cert Canada for management systems including FSSC 22000 :